Under-23 Concerto Competition



The 2018 Under 23 Concerto Competition were held on Sunday January 28th at 1:30pm, in the Recital Hall of the Guelph Youth Music Centre, 75 Cardigan St in Guelph.

Grand Prize Winners (tie): Samuel Choi, Viola (Glenn Gould School)

Lynn Sue-A-Quan, Viola (Julliard)

Performing a single movement in the 2018-19 season will be: Natania Fok, Piano (13 years old, Ottawa)

Livia Coburn, Cello (U of T)

Thank you to our seven fimalists who all performed so beautifully in the finals!!




Congratulations to Jillian Carney,  who is the winner of the GSO’s 2017 Under 23 Concerto Competition, for wind and brass players! Jillian will perform at the January 1, 2018 MainStage Concert with the Guelph Symphony Orchestra.

Jillian flute

Please note that he GSO’s under 23 Competition for 2018 will be open to ALL instrumentalists!

For queries or additional information contact the GSO Artistic Committee at  players@guelphsymphony.com


GSO Under 23 Concerto Competition results 2016- the 15th Anniversary Edition of this competition was open to all categories!

Coral Soloman, piano
Leslie Ashworth, violin
Morgan Melbourne, piano
Felix Hong, piano

GSO Under 23 Concerto Competition results 2015

The GSO’s 2015 Under 23 Concerto Competition finals took place on Sunday afternoon, March 1 from 1:30- 4:00. Our audience was treated to three stellar performances; Paganini Violin Concerto no. 1, Sibelius Violin Concerto and Elgar Cello Concerto. Congratulations to  Emma Meinrenken, who will be featured at our final concert next season.

Under 23 3 finalists      Left to right – Violinist Emma Meinrenken, violinist Jessy Je Young Kim and cellist Noah Schuster.

History of the Under-23 Concerto Competition

In 2002, the GSO initiated the competition to offer talented young musicians the opportunity to perform a full concerto as part of our regular concert series. Each year a different instrumental category is offered – piano, strings and wind. The age was carefully selected to be open to students who are working on or have completed their undergraduate studies.

Past Winners;

  • 2002 Sarah Choi (piano)
  • 2003 Judith Manger (cello)
  • 2004 Cecilia Kang (clarinet) and Mark Laver (saxophone)
  • 2005 Todd Yaniw (piano)
  • 2006 Desiree Abbey (cello)
  • 2007 joint winners Colin Liu (clarinet) and Winston Hind (tuba)
  • 2008 Ben Chapman (piano)
  • 2009 Amir Safavi (violin)
  • 2010 Afendi Yusuf (Clarinet)  and  Hugo Lee (oboe) (16 yr old! youngest ever)
  • 2011 Sarah Whynot (piano)
  • 2012 William McLeish (cello)
  • 2013 Laura Andrews (flute)
  • 2014 William Bellehumeur (piano)
  • 2015 Emma Meinrenken (violin)
  • 2016 Coral Soloman, piano
    Leslie Ashworth, violin
    Morgan Melbourne, piano
    Felix Hong, piano


Comments are closed.